Love is Genderless

Standard

Love knows no bounds. Love knows no gender. Love knows only love.

It’s Sunday afternoon and I’ve spent the day watching documentaries on Netflix… I have a soft spot for documentaries. There was one in particular that I wanted to see called “Edie & Thea: A Very Long Engagement”. The film focused on a lesbian couple that met in the 1960’s and followed their journey up until Thea’s death in 2009. At only a little over an hour long, this film brought me to tears. It was absolutely beautiful to see this couple still in love and happy together despite ever evolving social standards and opinions, a devastating illness, and the every day problems that come with being in a relationship. It culminated when the two women married in 2007. It was inspiring to say the least.

The second film I watched was called “Chris & Don: A Love Story” which was also about a gay couple living in Southern California. Having met in the 1950’s, their relationship was somewhat different due to a 30-year age difference between them, but this didn’t change the beauty of their love. The story was told by Don who was just 16 when he met his lover, Chris, during a time when homosexuality was still heavily frowned upon even in a fairly liberal state like California.

I highly recommend both films because I feel that they are very representative of what love is in its true form. Both couples stayed together “til death do us part” and showed that it doesn’t matter whether one is gay, straight, transgender, or otherwise… love will always find a way.

Hearing stories of anyone staying (happily) together for decades makes me smile. A lot of people strive to find love that will last a lifetime and anytime I see an elderly couple holding hands because they’re truly still in love with each other, it reminds me that unconditional love does still exist. It reminds me that even through sometimes fierce opposition, if two people are willing to fight for love, who is anyone else to stop them? As I watched Thea & Edie together, their love was so apparent and real that I thought to myself, “How could anyone oppose something so beautiful and passionate?”

Love is love. It always finds a way whether we want it to or not. I believe it was John Lennon who said “Life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans”… and I’d like to modify it to “LOVE is what happens when we’re busy making other plans.” None of us can help who we fall in love with. All we can do is give it our all and see what happens.

I hope to one day find a love so deep that it sets my whole world on fire. I hope to grow old with that one person who shares such an unconditional love. I hope to die having known that kind of passion. In due time, I believe that it can happen to all of us if we let it. Love knows no boundaries, it knows no gender. Love only knows love.

4 responses »

  1. Very nice Blog. I enjoy that these documentaries demonstrate that one doesn’t “need” an “outside approval system” for Love to exist. Whether that is a Government approval or a Religious approval via acknowledged union (marriage)… And no I am not opposed to those that wish “legal” marriage (had 4 myself) if that is what they truly want. My concerns rest with those who wish the “controls” for their own agendas (see Religions and Governments)

Leave a Reply

