Is Valentine’s Day REALLY All That Bad?

Standard

This Valentine’s Day was the best one that I’ve ever had as a single lady. Cupid’s holiday gets a bad wrap because many people think that since they don’t have a significant other to spend the day with, they should hide out in a corner and hate on everybody else who does. I don’t believe that to be true for a number of reasons, but the most important is this. Valentine’s Day is just another day and no Hallmark holiday should have enough power to make a person feel as though they’re somehow less worthy or deserving of love just because they happen to be single. In fact, it should do the exact opposite.

Single & Smokin' on Valentine's Day!

You know why you’re single on Valentine’s Day? Because that awesome person you’ve been searching for is making sure that everything is perfect for when he/she finally meets you. You’re single because the Universe wants you to have just as much fun loving yourself as you would another person. Or hey, maybe that person is running a few minutes late to a dinner that they’re going to be totally miserable at, and as they’re getting out of their car in the parking garage they happen to run into you and knock all the books you just bought at the Tattered Cover out of your hands. When they stop to help you pick them up, your eyes meet and suddenly you’re in one of those sappy romantic comedies that you hate to love so much. I don’t even have to go into what happens next. You already know.

I don’t have a boyfriend at this point and I didn’t let that stop me. I made reservations at Encore on Colfax (you MUST go there by the way) and went on a friend date with my awesome pal, Erin. We got dressed up, drank fine wine, ordered delicious food, and all in all had a fabulous time. Yes, there were couples sitting around us. But after observing a few of them, I noticed that a couple of those people didn’t seem all that happy. In fact, they looked quite bored. I think my friend and I were having more fun stuffing our faces and laughing together than those other people who were only there because they felt obligated.

So you see, Valentine’s Day, like any other day will base itself off of the energy you put out. If you think Valentine’s Day sucks and its only purpose is to remind you of how lonely and pathetic you are, well… then yeah. That’s what it’s here for. But if you look at it as an opportunity to take the most bad ass mother trucker (you) this world has ever seen out on a date, then that’s exactly what it’s here for too. It’s all perspective my dear friends. What kind of power are you going to give this day of love?

Think about it and let me know. 🙂

5 responses »

  1. I heard on the radio this morning that the week following VD is the busiest of the year for divorce attorneys. Better to enjoy your day single than go through the motions just because you feel it’s something you’re supposed to do.

    Going to have to check that place out. Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  2. Awesome post! You have a terrific way of boiling things down to their essence! Yes, this Valentines Day I am blessed to have a man in my life who loves me hugely. But I absolutely know that we wouldn’t be at this point if I hadn’t gotten to love ME first. 😉 And numerous funny texts and lots of ‘I love you’s” thru the day are worth far more than putting a ‘price tag’ as it were on one particular day of the year. 😉

    And you couldn’t have picked a better way to spend the evening (Encore does rock btw!). I actually did the same with a girlfriend of mine 2 years in a row for New Years Eve. I know we had WAY more fun that a lot of folks out there . . . and didn’t have the crazy hangover’s either! LOL

Leave a Reply

