Holy Crap, I’m Employed!

Standard

I did it. I finally got a job and I did it on my own. There is a feeling of immense pride in that, and at the same time there are feelings of excitement, nervousness and fear. It’s exciting because after five months, I’m finally moving forward and can begin learning new skills and earning some money to put towards the next big change in my life: my first apartment. I’ve definitely got the new job jitters with the nerves and I’m really hoping I don’t mess up. This job is  a bit higher profile than any of the jobs I’ve held previously as I will be working at a hospital. Never in my life did I imagine I’d ever work at any kind of health care facility and to have someone have enough faith to give me a shot at it is pretty cool. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit scared though.

I’m  definitely going to have to step outside the box with this job. There are a lot of new things I’ll get to learn and I know that there will be times where it will be uncomfortable. Just another instance of shedding the proverbial life skin if you will. In order to grow and learn, you gotta go through a bit of discomfort. One aspect of this new gig that I will have to get used to is dressing up in “work” clothes. This jeans and t-shirt girl must now embrace the high heels that have been sitting in my closet collecting dust. The cool thing though is that I have seen a lot of employees with tattoos and piercings, even if they’re small… and that kind of makes me feel better. It lets me know that there are people like me working there and that regular people work in hospitals, not just a bunch of stiffs. Yeah, yeah… I know. Duh.

Anyway, I know that through the nerves and uncertainty I will be just fine. My boss seems pretty rad and I started my first day with another new hire so at least I had someone to share the new job jitters with. Ultimately, the goal here is to learn as much as I can and grow so that I can be a leader no matter where my life takes me.

I’ve taken an interest in homeopathic medicine and am looking into a program to become a Certified Master Herbalist… perhaps to write about natural health care or get into medicine making… or both. So, as the nerves fade and I find my feet in this new position, I’m just going to keep looking forward and take this opportunity to step out of my comfort zone.

It seems that every time I get comfy, I do something that messes it all up. You’d think I’d be the damn Jolly Green Giant with all this growth crap. Whatever… onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

