It’s Goin’ Down in 2011!

Standard

“We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day. ” – Edith Lovejoy Pierce

It’s about that time of year where everyone starts making their New Year’s resolutions. You know, the ones that we all mean to stick to but rarely ever do. I’ve decided to make a list of all of the things that I’m going to do this year without adding the extra pressure of a resolution. I guess it’s more or less like a bucket list. If I were to die this year, I’d at least want half of this list done because, well, getting to do the other half in heaven doesn’t sound all that terrible either. But anyway, here’s a few basic things I’m going to do this year with friends, family, people I don’t know and by myself.

  • Go skydiving. I’ve wanted to do it for years. It’s happening.
  • Rent my first apartment by myself, no room mates. I’m not far from this.
  • Participate in a Fight Night at my gym at least once. This chick is going to learn how to take a punch or fifty.
  • Take some cooking classes. I’ve been talking about it for way too long… time to just do it.
  • Learn to shut up and listen. I’ve realized that I love to talk about myself way too much. Or, at least I think it’s way too much. Other people might argue with me.
  • Learn to play my bass to the point that by 2011, I can seriously start a band. It’d be cool if this happens earlier than the end of next year though.
  • Showcase/sell my artwork at an art show!
  • Write a few chapters of my novel if not the entire novel itself.
  • Purchase my own handgun.
  • Leave the USA for a few days/weeks.
  • Expand my network by joining meetup groups and actually GOING to their events.
  • Bungee jump.
  • Go snowboarding. Never done it. Really want to. A little snow in the face never hurt anybody.
  • Go camping in the Rockies.
  • Visit a city or five that I’ve never been to before. Chicago, I’ll see you this spring.
  • Learn my way around Denver to the point where I won’t need to use my GPS nearly as much.
  • Get another tattoo.
  • Volunteer somewhere like an animal shelter/homeless shelter/non-profit organization.

This is only a short list of the type of stuff I’d like to do this year. Just a little foundation. As I learn more about what there is to do in Denver, I have no doubts that the list will grow and more items will be checked off.

2010 was full of good times, bad times, lessons, successes, and failures. 2011 will be full of the same but I’m counting on the majority of the year being filled with lessons, successes, a few failures and unforgettable experiences. As 2010 comes to a close, I invite you to make your own list. Not of resolutions that you’ll feel guilty about if you don’t accomplish… but things that you’d like to do in order to look back and relive the memories of the experience. Make this New Year about growing you into the person you were always meant to be. Make this year count.

Leave a Reply

