By Any Means Necessary

Standard

“There’s something to be said about a woman who can handle her own if placed in a situation where it’s warranted, whether through fist or fire.” – Me

I shot my first gun this past Sunday. It was exhilarating… it was nerve racking… it was pure power. After pulling the trigger for the first time, I tripped out a little on the inside because it wasn’t as scary as I thought it was going to be. It didn’t kick as hard as I was expecting which was the part that made me the most nervous. I was expecting to be thrown off my feet… or at least stumble a little bit. But I didn’t stumble and I remembered to breathe. Believe it or not, the only reason I remembered to breathe was because of the scene in Zombieland where Woody Harrelson teaches Abigail Breslin how to shoot a rifle. Speaking of which, I really need to watch that movie…

Anyway, now that I’ve shot… I want to do it again. I want my own gun. I want to know everything about them. Growing up, I was always aware of the dangers of the world, no matter where I was geographically. Even the tiniest, most suburban American towns can see some of the most gruesome horrors. To this day, I still walk with my keys between my fingers and I’m constantly aware of my surroundings. Boxing has made me aware of my own strength and shooting has made me aware of my own power.

Women are oftentimes looked at as the weaker of the sexes and in some cases, we are. You don’t see too many 6’4, 250 pound women walking around getting in fights with dudes the size of the freakin’ Hulk. But, just because we’re smaller physically doesn’t mean we have to be smaller in other ways. Knowing how to protect yourself in the event that something bad happens can mean the difference between living and dying. I think more and more women are learning the importance of self defense because it truly can save a life.

Honestly, my reasoning for wanting to learn how to shoot and fight have a lot to do with protecting myself in addition to the fun and self-confidence it gives me. As an independent 24-year old woman, I’m just a few short months away from being completely self sustaining. Living alone is part of that. I decided long ago that if there was ever a time where I was forced to protect myself or my family with force, I would do so by any means necessary. I refuse to be a target. I refuse to be someone who is looked at as vulnerable or weak. I refuse to be someone who watches something terrible happen to someone she loves and not be able to do anything about it. It’s important for me to be able to handle business if the situation calls for it and save the fear for later.

There is a quote that I love and try every day to live by. It says “A timid person is frightened before a danger, a coward during the time, and a courageous person afterward.” Thank you Mr. Jean Paul Richter. This quote speaks to me because it’s true. It’s alright to have fear. It’s how you handle that fear, especially if someone is trying to hurt you. I don’t know about anyone else… but if someone comes after me or my family with the intention of doing harm, they’re going down.

I didn’t write this in order to try to prove how tough I am or any of that nonsense. I wrote it because after the intense power I felt from shooting that gun, it reinforced the importance of knowing how to protect myself. There may come a time when I have no other choice but to fight… and then again, there may not. All I know is that I want to be prepared and I want the sound mind to know that if I have to, I can handle business. I think everybody should feel that. Everybody should have enough confidence, knowledge and skill to be powerful, not powerless. To be powerless is to choose to be powerless.

One response »

  1. I just read an essay for my English Comp class last week and want to suggest it to you. It’s called “A Peaceful Woman Explains Why She Carries a Gun” by Linda Hasselstrom. The sentiments you share are similar to those she expressed.

Leave a Reply

