16 Things That Make Me Smile

Standard

Here I sit, enjoying my third cup of chocolate cherry coffee (don’t worry, it’s decaf) and contemplating all of the little things that make me smile. It seems that people often forget that it is those little things that make the biggest difference. It is those little things that can gradually turn a grumble into a burst of joy. Material possessions, while fun, don’t bring long-lasting happiness. They fill voids and paint a status picture. Something that I don’t particularly care for. But anyway, back to the happy stuff. I’ve decided to make a quick, or maybe not so quick, list of things that brighten my days. They may seem minuscule to some, but to me, they make my life worth living.

  • My niece, Trinity. She’s amazing. At only two years old, she’s one of the smartest kids I know. She’s also a little comedian and I love that I get to watch her grow up. “Booty puppy, little Mama… booty puppy.”
  • Breakfast and conversation with my dad when he gets home from work. We talk about everything. It’s pretty awesome to get his perspective on things and he’s one of the most understanding people ever. He’s also the guy who ruined me on anything but home brewed Mystic Monk Coffee for the rest of my life.
  • My Mama’s hugs. Even though we live 1,200 miles away from each other now, there is nothing like a hug from my mom. They’re even more special now. No matter how dire a situation seemed in my life, she was always able to comfort me.
  • Looking out the window and seeing the snow-capped Rockies. Those ginormous mountains are a reminder of how small we really are and how big this world is. There is so much beauty within them.
  • Finding a new coffee shop in a part of town I haven’t discovered yet. Any place with a name like “Metropolis” has to be cool. It was awesome and I’m now a loyal customer.
  • My church. Scum of the Earth has been a God-send. Literally. It’s the only church where I have ever felt completely welcomed and unjudged. It makes me want to know God. It makes me want to cultivate “thin places”. Scummy folks know what’s up with those.
  • Writing. I never know what to say until I start writing… then it seems I can’t shut myself off.
  • Painting while listening to good tunes. Sometimes, all it takes is a little music to create something completely off the wall and beautiful.
  • Hats. I just freakin’ love hats.
  • The fat chihuahuas who I used to not like very much. Now, I love the funny looking little sausages. Seriously. They look like breakfast sausages with fur.
  • Boxing. I like being pushed even though sometimes I complain about doing cardio. It’s empowering to know that I could defend myself if the occasion called for it. It’s also awesome for the sweet guns I’ve got goin’ on and the fact that I get to kick it with my big brotha-man.
  • Having a beer with my sister just because I can. We didn’t grow up together, but now we only live a few miles away. The woman keeps my head on straight and knows how to girly-fy me when I’m too busy being a “bro”. Ha.
  • Trying out new recipes. I can’t cook a whole lot, but I’m learning and it’s super rad. It’s also pretty sweet that nobody has thrown up after eating my food. It lets me know I’m doing something right.
  • A roof over my head. It’s nice to not have to sleep in the cold. It’s pretty awesome to live in a home where we care about each other. Yeah, we bicker. We have disagreements. But, we’ve still got each other’s backs and always will.
  • My little V-Dub. I will probably cry when I have to get rid of that car. Good thing that won’t be for a long time.
  • Lastly, but definitely not leastly (yes, I realize “leastly” is not a word), my friends both old and new. There are good people everywhere and I’m extremely blessed to know some of them. Without my friends, I wouldn’t have people to laugh at and/or join in on my shenanigans. What fun is life without shenanigans?

While I could go on and on… and on… and on some more with all the things that make life worth getting up for in the morning, I’m gonna stop here because a) I have stuff to do and b) I want to know what “little” things are important in your life. What memories or daily happenings make you smile? What puts you in a good mood? Personally, I think remembering how the smaller miracles affect us is a better usage of time than dwelling on the negative crap we can’t do anything about. But, that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

