Be Awesome to Each Other

Standard

“Treat others as you would like to be treated…”

Most of us grew up with our parents constantly reminding us to treat others as we would like to be treated, especially during rough times. It is imperative that we adhere to this rule in order to not only ensure that we take care of each other, but that we attract what is right for us into our lives.

I left California on Friday and have since spent some time with some incredibly wise people. In addition, I’m very blessed to have a hand full of friends who I’d take a bullet for. Not simply because they’re friends, but because they’re people who don’t pull my chain or sugar coat anything that needs to be taken straight, no chaser. They treat me like they want to be treated.

From what I’ve learned over the years, when people are taken advantage of, treated poorly or done dirty in some way, whether directly or indirectly, by another person, it’s very hard to resist the will to retaliate. However, in many cases, the results that occur because of that will to resist will far outweigh the results of instant gratification. After speaking with a very close friend last night, I’m seeing the golden rule in action. You have to treat others as you would like to be treated… and if you do someone dirty out of anger or to simply hurt them for the sake of hurting them, karma will take care of you.

As a big believer in karma, I do my best to be awesome to people. Do I slip up from time to time? Of course. I’m human. However, about 95% of the time, I’ve got it handled. There is a situation that I have had to force myself to step away from and moving to CO helped out a lot. But, being human… some of the negative energy that this situation presented apparently hitched a ride with me along the 1,300 mile trek. However, after having the opportunity to speak with my dear friend, it was made VERY clear to me that karma is handling business with the situation and those involved in it, to the point where I can actually say, “Wow, I’m glad it isn’t me.”  I believe that I can actually take a few steps forward.

I won’t get into details of how karma and the golden rule apply here… all I’m going to say is remember to treat others as you would want to be treated. That does NOT mean be a doormat or overzealous in how you deal with people. Put simply, if you treat people like they’re nothing, prepare to be treated the same way. And if you treat people like they’re the sunshine of your life, you better expect to be treated the same way too. But be genuine. Treating people as you’d like to be doesn’t mean that you have to be happy all the time or act a certain way. Sometimes, it means handing out a verbal ass kicking so that someone you care about can move past a rough time or or wake up and smell the coffee. Whatever.

All I’m saying is… instant gratification does nothing for you in the long run. Be awesome to each other and expect awesome in return. Not everyone will be that way, but if YOU are, you’ll see the negative folks and their energy sucking shenanigans fade into nothing but distant memories.

Leave a Reply

