Everyday is an Opportunity to Learn

Standard

They say that people come into our lives for a reason, a season or a lifetime. I believe that people come into our lives to teach us lessons, no matter how long their stay may be. In addition, I believe that as we learn our own lessons, we subconsciously teach others, even if we don’t necessarily mean to.

The lessons don’t have to be complicated. It could be as simple as learning why you prefer loose leaf tea to pre-bagged tea… or it could be as complex and emotionally charged as realizing that you and your partner aren’t moving in the same direction anymore and the reasons behind that. All I know is that certain people have come into my life to bring me back to the reality that I want to set forth for myself.

It’s so very easy to get caught up in what others want for us. It’s human nature to want justification from others for our actions and life choices. One example I use a lot is the expectation that nowadays, women are supposed to be “liberated” and have careers because they’ve been “held down” and “repressed” by the male populous for so long. When I tell people that I’m perfectly happy and in fact, look forward to playing the “woman’s” role in society, I get funny looks, rolled eyes and questions like “But, don’t you want to be independent?”

Here’s the deal. I’m already quite independent. I bust my butt at work to make sure I progress and learn every day so that when it comes time for me to fulfill the “role” I’ve decided I want, I can do it to the best of my ability. I believe that the hardest job in the world is motherhood and being a good wife. Others may disagree and that’s fine. However, when I really sit down and think about it, I see so many people whose children are being raised by nannies. These children can tell you their nanny’s birthday, favorite color and the name of their pet, but they don’t recognize their own parents when they come home from work.

I, however, plan to raise my own children. I plan to be there to watch them grow, take them to soccer practice and dance classes, teach them how to cook, let them play in the mud, I plan to allow my children to have great childhoods while knowing exactly who their parents are. I also plan to spend lots of time baking and cooking for my family. A friend of mine even gave me a great idea for an apron. Because I’ve chosen to be a writer, in due time, I will be able to write remotely from anywhere which will free up my time and allow me to raise my family.

At 23 years old, I don’t plan on beginning this baby makin’ journey anytime soon. Right now is my time to learn, mess up, make my mistakes and absorb every lesson that every person and situation has been put in my life to teach me. I hope that everybody I’ve allowed to get close to me is here for a long, long time… however, should they fulfill their purpose and move on, I’m eternally grateful to anyone who has taught me something and will remember them forever. Every day brings new people and new lessons to be learned. Take advantage of the opportunity to learn a little about yourself and if you don’t like what you see, change it.

By the way, if you wanna say things like “Get in the kitchen and make me a sandwich,” or “Go get me a beer, woman,” go ahead. That sort of thing makes me laugh.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

3 responses »

  1. Good post Rachael…I think you’re on the money with regard to people not raising their own kids. Blessings always…Duane

  2. Hey, girlfriend. Hopefully we have come far enough you don’t have to choose between having kids and working. When I had to go back to work, I was fortunate enough to have a great lady and her daughter taking care of my daughter. They became part of her extended family. I was grateful she had two older ladies in her life, since her grandparents were not available. Some times things work out.

    Kaaren

Leave a Reply

