Days Like These Remind Us that the World is Still Good

Standard

Today was a beautiful day… and I’m not just talking about the weather.

I woke up this morning from an interesting but not bad dream. One of those dreams where something is supposed to happen and as it’s about to do so, you wake up. It worked out fine though since my alarm started to go off at that exact moment.

A feeling of contentment washed over me as I looked forward to what my day was going to bring. I really enjoy my job and I enjoy seeing my co-workers. It doesn’t hurt that there are Reese’s peanut butter cups in one of the offices that I can munch on once (or twice) a day. The fact that I actually have work to do and it keeps coming makes me happy. I’m busy throughout the entire day and there is a nice pack of cats that live in the building over who come and hang out with me on my breaks. I have a soft spot for cats… especially ones who hang out with me during lunch. Yes, I’m a crazy cat lady and I proudly wear that badge.

I decided that I was going to try meditation this evening when I got home from work. At first, I didn’t really know what to expect. I found the group through Meetup.com which I highly recommend if you’re looking to find cool people to hang with and get out of the house. Anyway, I went to the Burbank Meditation Meet-up for the first time since joining in January and it was a very positive experience. Rob, the kind soul who opens his home to guests and meditation practitioners on a weekly basis was a very good teacher. I left leaving calm, relaxed, happy and ready for whatever happened next.

When I got home and checked Facebook, I read some really, really great news. My friend Sunny had her dog, Gacy, stolen a few days ago and had been tirelessly searching for him since. After lots of effort on her part and the effort of those who care about her, Gacy was returned to Sunny tonight. Turns out that the woman who had bought him from the jerk who stole him had a good heart in her chest. She called my friend and mama and baby were reunited.

All in all, today was simply beautiful. The last part was really the cherry on top. As I always do, I started thinking about what I was and am thankful for. I’m thankful for a rad family, friends who love me and allow me to love them, my super cool job, a home with the man I love, and the fact that I was able to wake up again. Tomorrow isn’t guaranteed for any of us and it’s days like these that really make me realize that there is still good in people. No matter what else goes on in the world, good prevails.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

Leave a Reply

