The Light Is Not That Far Away…

Standard

I saw my friend, Michelle, today. It has been at least four years since we last saw each other. I heard she was in town and made plans to see her. We met up at a day party at Woodley Park. There were a lot of people there which was unusual since all of the day parties I have been to in the past had, at the most, fifty people. There was waaay more than that today. Michelle and I used to rave together. That’s how we met.

What was great about seeing her today was not only the fact that I got to see a long time friend, but that we were able to reminisce on our past. We danced because it was fun to dance. We saw friends that neither of us had seen in quite some time. We got to hang out and talk like normal people. For me, there was a sense that while my party hardy days may be over, I will forever remember what it was like to let the music take over and truly feel freedom. Today, there was no judgment. There was kindness. People were there to dance and have a good time and nobody else cared because everyone was there for the same reason.

Everyday life can be a struggle, especially with all the crap that is going on in this world. It’s easy to forget that through the bad, there is still good and good will always prevail one way or another. It’s easy to think that the problems that we face are endless and that that light at the end of the tunnel is too far away. I was reminded today that though life isn’t exactly the way I want it to be right now, I’m allowed to stop worrying for a few hours. I’m allowed to embrace another human being in a hug and feel an energy run through me that lets me know that life is still beautiful. People are still good.

There was a time when hearing trance music set my soul free. The beat resonated through my entire body and there was no evil. Bad people and situations had no hold on me. Everyone was genuine and cared about each others well being. For a few hours, everybody was alive with dance and our spirits were in unison. Then the sun would come up and it would all be over. We all went back to our ordinary lives, our worries, our fears… but through the negativity, we looked forward to the next time. The light at the end of the tunnel suddenly didn’t seem so out of reach.

I felt that life again at the park. There are certain people who bring a positive light with them no matter how much time has passed. Michelle brings that light with her and I’m so blessed to have been able to reconnect.

I look forward to my week. Because of today, this reminder, I will be able to face tomorrow with a smile… and nothing will be able to take that away from me.

Thank you, Michelle.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

Leave a Reply

