Count Your Blessings

Standard

I’m sitting here at my mom’s desk while she’s away in New Orleans and my mind is doing an inventory of the blessings I’ve received in just twelve short days of 2010. No matter who you are or what faith you practice, I think the term “blessing” can apply to everybody. I want to discuss a few of these blessings and what they mean for the rest of the year. Here goes!

1. Getting a Juicer and a bike for Christmas. Ok, so Christmas was a few days  shy 2010, but this applies anyway. In 2009, I wasn’t happy with my weight. I was the heaviest I have ever been at 171 pounds and being only 5’3, I knew that something had to change. I’m not one to get up in the morning and go running or to the gym. In fact, I hate running and I hate the gym! BUT, I do like eating healthy and I do like to bike ride. I also like to dance, swim and ice skate but we’ll save that for another day. The blessings that came with getting a juicer and a bike for Christmas were tools. They were motivation. I knew that I didn’t particularly like to eat a lot of vegetables, but if I could DRINK them, then that’s a whole different story. Since getting my juicer, I’ve made fresh fruit and veggie juice almost every day. My energy is up and I feel alive. It’s like I can almost feel my body absorbing the vitamins and healing itself. As for my bike, it’s awesome! It’s a pink beach cruiser complete with a basket that I can ride down to the Farmer’s Market and pick up fresh produce on. Not only that, I can use it as my mode of transportation for short distances around town. This not only helps get me back in shape, but it helps the environment as well and I think that’s a blessing in itself.

2. Writing Opportunities. Over the last twelve days, I’ve had writing opportunities placed in front of me that have the potential to help me build my reputation as a freelancer. Not only that, these opportunities allow me to learn, improve and expand on my writing capabilities. I’m not gonna lie. I’m a good writer and there is always room for improvement. I believe that I always have to look for ways to improve if I want to be the best. A number of you who have kept up with me here have complimented my writing and I’m very grateful for the positive feedback. It let’s me know that I’m doing something right.

3. SendOutCards. Yes, SendOutCards. I’ve been in SOC for a little over 10 months and feel more confident that I can make this work me than I ever have before. Over the last twelve days, I’ve found a number of prospects who may turn into customers and/or business partners. I’ve been blessed to find positive, happy people who are looking for a way to build their current businesses or who just want to make the world a better place. It is said that if you want to be successful, hang out with successful people and do what they do. I want to be happy, so I hang out with happy people. I want to be a successful business owner, so I hang out with successful business owners. Everyday I tell myself “I AM successful”, and you know what? I already feel that way. Success doesn’t mean you’re the richest person in the world. It means that you’re happy, grateful and humble. Do I plan on making a lot of money with SendOutCards? Hell yes! Does my making a lot of money with SOC determine whether I’m successful or not? No. Ultimately, SOC is a blessing for me because I know that whether I make $25 or $25,000, I’m making a difference to somebody.

4. Being Alive. Everyday I wake up is a blessing and so far this year, I’ve had twelve wonderful life blessings. I’ve been given another day to make a difference, another day to stop and smell the flowers, another day to be happy with who I am and who I intend to become. Everyday I get to wake up and meet new people, I get to drink fresh juice and play with some of the most awesome animals to ever live. I get to play loud music in my car and try to new restaurants. I get to dance like a fool in public, hang out with the best boyfriend a woman could ask for, and find new ways to live off the land (ok, I know. I live in Burbank, CA in a little triplex, but I can still plant a garden if I want to!). Everyday that I get to crawl groggily out of bed and feel the sun on my face is a blessing. Even the crappy days are blessings because more than likely, there was some lesson  to be learned. Whatever. Be happy to be alive!

Of course, it’s still very early on in the year. There are many more blessings to come and I hope that you’ll take advantage of them. Don’t be afraid to hug your teenager even if they think you’re sooooo uncool. Don’t be afraid to smile at a stranger even if they don’t smile back. Don’t be afraid to tell the cashier at the store that she’s beautiful. Hell, I told a customer once that she was beautiful when I was working at a beauty supply store. You should have seen her eyes light up. You never know what kind of difference you can make in this world unless you’re thankful to be part of this world. Don’t lose sight of why you’re here. We’re all here to be blessings to somebody, sometime.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

5 responses »

  1. wow! this is moving..really ive been going through this problem for a while and actually this is a blessing to me “) i wish i can be so positive like you.. n someday i will. again awesome blessings!

  2. I’m glad that my words were a blessing. That’s really awesome to hear. The moment you decide to be positive about one thing, you get kind of a domino effect and suddenly a lot of things lose their negativity.

  3. I’m glad to see such a positive blog past from you! It’s a great feeling to be starting a new year. I breathed a sigh of relief New Years Day when I began to contemplate what great new opportunities this New Year can bring to my Business and my life. It’s always great to know that there are people like yourself who are true marketers and entrepreneurs; I wish you the best of luck in your business endeavors and overall in your day to day life.

    -DFG

Leave a Reply

