Five Years, Ten Years

Standard

Before I start this post, I’d like to apologize to my readers for being M.I.A. for about 12 days. Honestly, I’ve come to my blog numerous times and just stared at it, thinking to myself “Wow, I really don’t know what to write today.” So, I decided to let it sit for a few days until I had some sort of inspiration. Today, I have found some.

Over the last few days, various projects, opportunities and new ways of thinking have been brought to my attention. All are from varying sources and all present a platform for me to better myself. I have been seriously thinking about what I want to happen over the next five to ten years so that once that time passes, I can be in the place I so vividly see in my mind. I want to show you where I see myself in five years and in ten years… in a number of different aspects of my life. I feel that if I share it and have all of you to encourage me, it will motivate me to never let my vision hit the back burner.

Let’s skip ahead to 2015 (I say 2015 because 2009 is nearly over. Don’t worry, I know how to count). I’m a well respected writer and not stuck with one company. I’m a freelance writer so I never commit to one job and I NEVER commit to anything that will stop me from working from home (or my favorite local coffee shop). I have also completed a novel in the urban fantasy genre and it has gained much notice.  My SendOutCards business has exploded and I have an incredible team doing incredible things. I have enough money coming in to allow myself and my family a nice vacation every six months, or more if I deem fit. Ideally, I have gotten married and in the later part of this five year goal, I have my first child. My wedding will be quite beautiful with an Art Deco theme. My gown is from a designer by the name of Claire Pettibone who derives her gown ideas from the styles of the past. I have a convertible car with a very nice sound system. I’m big on music as I have always been and won’t settle for anything less than awesome when it comes to my sound system. Ideally, my husband and I have bought a house in a nice neighborhood with a pool so that I may go out for daily swims. My cooking skills have improved so much that I no longer need the recipe books and I have maintained my ideal weight for the better part of the last five years. I’m very centered and enlightened in my spirituality and I have learned to live in the conscious moment instead of the past or future.

Sounds pretty doable for a five year plan, correct? I think so.

Now, as for the ten year plan.

In ten years, I will have a number of novels published and will be reaping the benefits of royalty money. I will now be writing because I simply enjoy it and not as a means to make money. My SendOutCards business will be making the majority of my money and I’ll be financially free and living off of residuals. If I haven’t gotten married yet as I said I’d ideally like to in my five year goals, it has definitely happened in the ten year goals. By this time, I also have two children. I have built a personal library into a section of my house and I fill it with books from my favorite authors as well as educational books on writing, poetry, art, photography and music. I’ve also been able to buy my mom a house that she can grow old in. By this time, I have filled many passport pages and have made friends globally. My family is my number one inspiration and priority. Nothing except God himself comes before them. The most important thing to me is being a good mom and wife which means being there to watch my children grow up (and not having them raised by a nanny while I’m off working 70 hour weeks at some crappy office) and being the ultimate support for my husband.

Although five and ten year goals seem like a lifetime away, they’re really just around the corner in the big scheme of things. A lot can happen in ten years and ultimately, my goals may change. My core values however, will stay the same. I know that I want to get married and have children. I refuse to compromise on that. I know that I want a library in my house because I want to be able to educate myself on all the subjects I enjoy. I know that I want to buy my mom a house because, well… she deserves a freakin’ house. And she’s awesome. I feel like my goals are pretty attainable and there is really nothing that’s going to stop me from achieving them.

I hope that, if you haven’t started thinking about what your goals are over the next few years, you’ll start doing so quite soon. Nobody was put on this earth to be mediocre. We were all put here to be extraordinary and unless we stop ourselves, we are all unstoppable. Now, go out there and get yourself some dreams!

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

6 responses »

  1. Heh Rachael,

    We are definitely on the same page with regards to goals. Some of us are very good at short term goals but uncomfortable with the longer term goals. I tell my children and my clients that in general most of us spend more time planning a party and/or vacation but so little time planning our lives.Planning does not mean carved in stone – we are allowed to take detours, to tweak and re define our goals for our successful abundant lives.

    You are awesome!

    Continued success with receiving your goals.

  2. Rachael…WOW! I love this (yes, even without the house part). I know that you will achieve all that you dream…your passion and hard work will ensure that you do. Dream and then don’t let anyone stand in your way – go out and get it. You’re an amazing young woman and I’m so proud of you!

  3. It is so doable! I see it all for you NOW Rachael!

    We have such wonderful miracles happening in our lives each and every day. I know you recognize even the smallest miracle and say “Thank you!”

Leave a Reply

