Dreams, Visions and a Great Big Library!

Standard

In life, we’re often told that we can’t go anywhere until we know where we are and where we want to go. Over the past few months, I have had the opportunity to grow and develop an idea of where it is I would like to be in five, ten and even twenty years from now. It wasn’t really an easy journey, but no journey worth completing is ever easy. Today, I had an idea, actually… it was a vision about what I wanted. I’d like to share with you a few of my newly acquired ideas and what I plan to do in order to get them.

Today is November 2, 2009. I woke up this morning the same way I always do. I started a cup of coffee, checked e-mails and my thoughts turned to my activities of the past week. Last Monday, I went with my mom to the public library about halfway between her house and mine. Originally, my mom just wanted to pick up a new book and I was just along for the ride. When we walked into the library, I couldn’t help but turn my attention to the fiction section and start browsing. Hey, even if you don’t plan to borrow any books, you can’t just walk into a library and simply stand there twiddling your thumbs. At least, I can’t because my curiosity gets the best of me every time.

I started browsing through the authors and searching for books from my favorite authors. The library had a few and most of the books available were books I had already read. Upon entering my third aisle, I came across an author I’d never heard of before, but whose books had enticing titles and covers. When it comes to literal books, I judge the cover. The book series was called the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning and the genre of her writing was one of my absolute favorites, Urban Fantasy. I picked up the first book and started reading the back. Instantly, I was interested and seriously considered borrowing all three books that were available. “Maybe I shouldn’t get greedy,” I thought to myself and I reconsidered only borrowing one book. I continued to peruse the aisles but couldn’t stop thinking about what I’d be missing if I didn’t borrow the Fever series books. My greedy thoughts went straight to the wind as I turned my curious little self around, went back to the third aisle of the nonfiction section and grabbed all three books that were available.

Fast forward back to today, November 2. I rented those books until November 16th, however it seems that I won’t need that much time. I’ve already finished the first book and am nearly finished with the second. I’ll be done with the third one three days from today. I’m not telling you this story to show off how quickly I read through interesting books. What I have gained from this intense few days of reading, reading and reading some more is the dream of having my own library… in my own house.

When I have the money to purchase my dream house, one requirement of mine will be that it MUST have its own library. I want my library to be filled with books as far as the eye can see. I want my bookshelves to be as tall as the ceiling or even continuing on to second and third stories. If there was ever a place called paradise, this would be mine.

I love words. I love reading them and I love writing them. I am blessed with the talents of a great writer and I am willing to do whatever it takes to become the absolute best at what I do. I love to proofread, I love to write stories, I love to read stories and learn about specific authors’ writing styles. I don’t want to be just good at writing, I want to Master it. Having this realization got me thinking about what else I want when I have the money and success to do so. I may not be able to tell you where I want to live or what kind of snazzy car I want to drive, but I can tell you that wherever I end up, I want my library.

A few other life goals I want to achieve are what a lot of you, my readers, want as well. I want to get married to the love of my life (lucky for me, I truly believe I have found him already), I want a couple of beautiful children to raise, I want to be spiritually aligned with my Maker, and I want to have a small knit group of very close friends who I can count on in every situation. Aside from the common dreams, I want a house of Victorian design, I want a vast collection of antique jewelry because I absolutely love the styles of old, I want properties in varying cities in varying countries and I want a ferret. I don’t care how bad they stink, I want one.

In order to attain these goals, I have decided to take action. Phrases like “I can’t do…” and “It’s impossible to…” are phrases that I’m working on losing. Fear will not be a deciding factor in anything I do because through fear comes courage if I decide to fight for what I want. There is not a single person on this earth who I will not prove wrong if they tell me I can’t do something or that my dreams are silly. I’m seizing opportunities that have shown themselves to me in the past week that will allow me to become better at my craft and make a little bit of money to sack away in my savings account. I plan to educate myself in real life experience, not in classrooms. I plan to teach and share my experiences with others so that the cycle of giving can start and carry on into infinity. I’m a big believer in karma and I believe that the more we give to others, the more we get in the long run. No matter what obstacles stand in front of me, I plan to knock them down.

I hope that you will revisit your dreams and envision what you want in life. I hope that whatever obstacle you’re facing right now, you won’t let it stand in your way, whether it be a crappy job, an opposing spouse or the stresses of everyday life. I hope that you will look in the mirror and see the person that you were meant to be in the big scheme of things and remember that you are special. Grab hold of your dreams and don’t let go of them until you’ve reached them. Once you have, dream bigger. Remember to always strive for greatness because you are great.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

One response »

  1. It was good to read that in a day like today. I’m not having the best day ever, so it help me in a way… Thanks x)
    Btw, i can translate the things you write when you start ‘being published’ in Brazil ❤

Leave a Reply

