It’s All In Your Imagination

Standard

Over the years, I’ve found that I have quite an active imagination. If you looked at my collection of books, you would see books about fairies, elves, urban fantasy tales and worlds that exist beneath our own. I have always been fascinated by the possible existence of a magical world, a world very different from ours, even if said world only exists in my head. In order for me to have a lively existence, I have to have a lively imagination. I am someone who, without the artistic imagery playing an active part of my daily life, would probably wither away into nothingness. I believe that it is important to have an active imagination because the possibilities of what we can create there are infinite.

Perhaps it’s a deep seated childhood fascination with other worldly creatures. When we’re children, we read fairy tales about Peter Pan and his fairy companion, Tinkerbell among many others. As I grew from a child to a young adult, the adoration of such magical entities grew with me and here I am, 23 years old and still wanting to prance around in fairy wings. For those of you who are wondering, yes, I will be a fairy this Halloween. It’s not only fairies and elves though… it’s trolls and gnomes, nymphs and vampires and pretty much every other mystical and ethereal creature. I dream about them and like to think that perhaps when I’m walking in the woods on camping trips, a few of them might be watching and waiting to play a trick on me.

Of course I’m not in my fairy world all of the time. I can’t be. I do, however, find inspiration in it. I’ve read many great books from authors like Francesca Lia Block, Christopher Moore, Karen Marie Moning, Neil Gaiman and Holly Black just to name a few. Because these authors are so great with their words, I am able to use my imagination to design a world where their stories take place. In a way, I can turn their stories into my own because I am the one imagining. Hell, if I want to, I can put myself right into their stories. If you ever see me reading a book and smiling to myself, check out what book I’m reading and then watch the wheels in my head start turning.

I’ve been on an ethereal kick for the past few days. Maybe it’s just because Halloween is coming up and this time of year is special in the fact that we can dress up and for one day, be WHATEVER we want to be. We don’t have to be human, we don’t have to be animal, we don’t even have to resemble anything that exists in nature. We can use our imaginations to create something completely new and be as vivid or as secretive as we like. Even though I’ve been a fan of the fae for many years now, I have never dressed up as one for Halloween. At least I don’t remember doing so. To be honest, it wasn’t even my idea. My boyfriend and were trying to decide what to be for Halloween and he came up with fairies… but he wasn’t about to be a hot fairy. Oh no, he’s gonna be the homeless, gross fairy with mustard stains and a broken wing… he’s the funny one. I’m going as the hot fairy… or whatever. For me, this is another opportunity to let my inner fae run wild. If I was really a fairy, is my costume what I’d really look like? There I go again. Imagining things.

You may be sitting there asking yourselves what the purpose of this post was or you might be running to your room to get out your own fairy wings from last year’s costume. I wrote this post because I feel like sometimes we keep our inner fantasies locked up and don’t let them flourish as they should. We don’t let our inner children run and play and sometimes life  just takes us to dark places where we lose our inspiration. I feel that by keeping my own inner fairy alive, I keep myself from taking life too seriously and losing sight of my creativity. I hope that wherever you are, whatever your career or passion is, you never let yourself imprison your imagination. Because our imagination is the essence of our creativity.

 

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

3 responses »

  1. I think the greatest ability human have is to dream up stuff especially while asleep. Yet to turn this obsecure worlds from the breasts of dreams marrying them into the realm of the known & norm reality though often a challenge is a human trait that defines what being human is!

    Keep crafting, designing & conjugating creature noble, nuts or plain wierd the world is in short supply of imagination.

    Daniel

  2. I think it is great to be able to bring that inner child out of us. Life gets so hectic and sometimes we lose track of the fact that we can have fun too. Keep up the good writing.

  3. What a treat to read this. I have always know you had a special gift with words. Keep up the wonderful writing and take us to our own special places.

Leave a Reply

