Why It’s OK to Have Meatballs for Breakfast

Standard

After having read my first blog entitled “Spaghetti Dreams”, my friend Andrew asked me last night “So, what DOES happen when you have more meatballs than spaghetti?” and my answer to him was “Well, Andrew… you have meatballs for breakfast two days in a row”. The little wheels in my head began to turn and I started thinking about how I could take my meatball metaphor a little further. Here is what I came up with.

When we finally find the tools and the belief in ourselves to go after our dreams and goals, we’re often left wondering “What now?” after we’ve accomplished them. For some people, ideas come one right after the other, almost instantaneously. For others, we have to sit and really ponder what we’re going to do next.

When I made my first batch of meatballs, I had so much meat that I was able to make thirty of them. Well, I was only going feed two people and there was no way that my boyfriend nor myself were going to eat fifteen meatballs each. So, we put the left overs in the fridge and went on with our evening. For two days after that, I had meatballs for breakfast and they were awesome. No sauce, nothing. Just my little meatballs. The meatballs that I made all by myself.

I have been thinking about what happens when we accomplish a goal and think to ourselves “Mission accomplished”. A lot of the time, we still have left over tools that we could use for another purpose. Take a painting for example. Let’s say you’ve got this amazing painting that you’ve been working on for weeks and you finally finish it. It’s beautiful and you’ve surpassed even your own expectations on how well it came out. You feel a sense of pride, happiness and you can’t wait to start your next project. Your momentum has not diminished even though the painting is complete. That momentum is an ongoing tool that you can use for future projects because you know that you’re capable of greatness. As funny as it sounds, your momentum is in your meatballs.

In my case, I found power in the finished product and have been able to identify what it took to get my goal accomplished. Even though all I wanted to do was make a nice, homemade dinner for my boyfriend and I, I’ve come away from the experience with much more than just the knowledge of how to make spaghetti and meatballs. I’ve come away with an attitude of “I CAN cook and I CAN cook well”. That “I CAN” attitude will carry over into many other aspects of my life including my writing. I can honestly say that I probably wouldn’t have started this blog if it wasn’t for the meatballs (and a little push from some very special people) because I was afraid of the risk. What if people don’t like it? What if I fail? What would have happened if I had not decided to make my meatballs? I can tell you that I would not have had so much fun making a mess of my kitchen. I would not have been able to say “I made this meal all by myself” and I would not have the sense of joy that making that meal gave to me.

Today, I’m not sitting here thinking about all of the things I can’t do. I’m thinking of all the things I CAN do. I CAN develop an artistic edge, I CAN become a fantastic writer, I CAN be successful in my business and I CAN pretty much do anything that I want to do and be whatever I want to be. So, I’m going to ask you something. CAN you be everything that you want to be? CAN you believe enough in yourself to take a risk regardless of what other people might think? If the answer is yes, what are you still doing here? Go out and do it! If your answer is no, I’m going to tell you to go buy a Betty Crocker cookbook, make yourself some meatballs and call me in the morning.

Don’t let your joy and sense of accomplishment and happiness be overshadowed by fear of risk or failure. Unless what you want to do is going to result in death, why are you waiting? Be patient and kind to yourself. Be loving to yourself and nurture the gifts that God gave you. None of us were created to be mediocre. We were all created to be great… we just have to discover what triggers that greatness. For me, it was a batch of meatballs, for you, it may be something even more seemingly small. Go find your happiness.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

One response »

  1. I like your comments on the various subject you cover…You can find me on
    facebook …I am fine tuning a recording and e-book version on losing the
    estra weight and keeping it off…how is your progress on your weight ? It
    sound like u have the motivation and what it takes! I am into network marketing
    also…….Nature boy Harv

Leave a Reply

