Spaghetti Dreams

Standard

A few days ago, as I was playing around on my Facebook page, I noticed a particular status of a friend. I can’t remember exactly what it said, but it had to do with having more meatballs in your spaghetti than actual spaghetti. At that moment, being hungry and indecisive about what to have for dinner, the decision was made for me. Nothing else sounded good. All I wanted was some delicious spaghetti with homemade meatballs. As I searched through my cabinets and fridge to make sure I had all the ingredients, I came to realize that I didn’t even have any hamburger meat.

I was already in my pajamas and was feeling rather lazy, so I said “I’ll make spaghetti tomorrow” and decided to settle on the fast food that my boyfriend was bringing home later that evening. The next night, we went to the new market by our house and picked up some ingredients. I was dead set on making homemade meatballs. I didn’t want any store bought meatballs because I wanted to try my hand at being Betty Crocker.  When we got home, it was already a little late for dinner, so once again, spaghetti and meatballs was pushed to the following night.

Finally, on day number three (third time’s a charm, eh?), I started on my meatballs. I mixed all the ingredients together and played with the giant pile of mush until I could form the little balls. I ended up with thirty of them and over the next few days, would eat them all. When they were done, I had the pasta and sauce ready and was quite proud of myself because the meatballs turned out delicious.

Now, you might be saying “Uh… yeah, meatballs aren’t that hard. Why are you so proud?” Well, here’s the deal. I don’t know how to cook many things, especially anything homemade where I measure ingredients or any of that. I’m an impatient person and instant gratification is my game. The reason I was so proud of my little meatballs was because I made them. Nobody made them for me. I opened my little Betty Crocker cookbook and followed all the instructions and discovered the fun in creating a meal from scratch for my boyfriend and I. I felt like I had actually accomplished something and I was proud of myself. I felt good and couldn’t wait to pick out a new recipe to cook.

This whole experience can relate to a number of different topics, not just the literal topic of cooking. As I was eating my delicious meal, I started thinking about goals and dreams. In the beginning of my experience, the idea spaghetti and meatballs for dinner was so massive that I wanted absolutely nothing else. My heart was set on that particular meal. When I saw that I didn’t have the ingredients, I settled for something else. How often do we do this with our own goals and dreams? We have an idea or a goal and it’s the only thing we can focus on. Then, we realize we don’t have the tools, sometimes it’s that we don’t believe in ourselves, sometimes we don’t have the money to accomplish our dreams, sometimes it’s lack of motivation.

Whatever the case may be, we settle and put our dreams on the back burner. Eventually, if we’re lucky or just plain tired of the life we’re living, we’ll come back to those goals and dreams, which is what I did when I went to the store and got the ingredients for my meal. We will find a way to make our dreams happen if we really want them. Sometimes it’s a traumatic experience that brings us back to our goals and dreams (death, divorce, heartbreak) because we think we have nothing left to lose. Other times, we come back because we know that we can do better and our belief in ourselves returns. In my case, I wanted to make spaghetti and I wanted to accomplish making a meal for myself and my boyfriend that I worked on and I created, not just some meal in a box. Sometimes wanting to accomplish a goal because it’s YOUR goal and you KNOW how great you’ll feel afterward is the motivation you need to keep on truckin’.

I find that a lot of the time, life gets in the way of our dreams and goals. People tell us that our dreams are stupid, unobtainable, not realistic or just plain that we can’t do it. I’m not perfect. I’ve been in that dark place where I thought my dreams were stupid and that I should snap back into reality. Let me tell you a little bit about reality. Your reality is what you make it. There are a few folks who get lucky and win the lottery, but for most of us, we have to bust our butts to get where we want to be. We have to work hard to have a nice house for our families and we have to believe that we deserve the finer things in life. I’ll admit that I’m still shaky when it comes to believing and here’s the cool thing. I know now what my beliefs are about myself and I can now decide where I want to go with them. Knowing what your beliefs are and how to change them (if that’s what you need to do) is the first step in deciding where you want to go in life. Do you believe that you can be a multi-millionaire in network marketing? Do you believe that you can paint your imagination on canvas and be proud of your work? Do you believe that you can change the world, one life at a time? I am certainly on my way to believing all of these things.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t lose sight of your dreams, your passions, or your goals. Don’t let small minded people shut the doors on your dreams because they shut the door on theirs. Believe in yourself and know that whatever it is you want to do, you have the power to do it. Hey, if you want, you can even start small with a batch of delicious homemade meatballs.

About Rachael Moyte

Food. Art. Music. Pillow forts. Hula hoops. Beanies. Bass (the instrument, not the fish). Denver. Traveling. Friends. Butterflies. METAL! Comfy pants. Books. Books. Books. Writing. Beer. Walking. Sunshine. Rain. Sugar skulls. Tattoos. Lots more.

7 responses »

  1. Rachael…it’s awesome to see you get this going. I know you will have great success in this and yes always remember that you’ve been given amazing abilities and gifts that only you can share with the world and this is your place to do it.

    Much success to you my friend,
    Aaron Wyssmann

  2. What a great blog Rach. It is so gratifying to see my children do well and really grasp an idea or concept that will lead to a better life. You made a great analogy with the meatballs. Keep doing what you love and keep progressing. I am very proud!

  3. Hi Rachael!

    I love this premiere post. It’s so full of honesty and heart, and also relevant to everyone. I love the part about not having the right tools and then giving up. I’ve been there so many times before.

    Congrats on getting this going =) I’m so glad you shared it with me.

    Lori

    PS Now I can’t stop thinking about meatballs. Getting hungry…

Leave a Reply

